

The following *draft* Minutes of the special meeting of the Toronto Police Services Board held on January 15, 2009 are subject to adoption at its next regularly scheduled meeting.

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL PUBLIC MEETING of the Toronto Police Services Board held on **JANUARY 15, 2009** at 5:00 PM in the Auditorium, 40 College Street, Toronto, Ontario.

PRESENT: Dr. Alok Mukherjee, Chair

Ms. Pam McConnell, Councillor & Vice-Chair

Ms. Judi Cohen, Member

Mr. Frank Di Giorgio, Councillor & Member

Mr. Hamlin Grange, Member

The Honourable Hugh Locke, Q.C., Member Mr. Adam Vaughan, Councillor & Member

ALSO PRESENT: Mr. William Blair, Chief of Police

Ms. Deirdre Williams, Board Administrator

THIS IS AN EXTRACT FROM THE MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL PUBLIC MEETING OF THE TORONTO POLICE SERVICES BOARD HELD ON JANUARY 15, 2009

#P1. APPOINTMENT & RE-APPOINTMENTS TO THE BOARD

The Board was in receipt of the attached correspondence dated December 09, 2008 from Ulli Watkiss, City Clerk, regarding the appointment of Councillor Adam Vaughan to the Board for a two year term of office effective January 01, 2009.

The correspondence also indicates that Councillors Pam McConnell and Frank DiGiorgio were re-appointed to the Board for two year terms of office effective January 01, 2009.

Councillor Pam McConnell was in attendance and administered the oath of office and oath of secrecy to Councillor Adam Vaughan.

The Board received the correspondence and congratulated Councillor Vaughan on his appointment to the Board.



City Clerk's Office

Ulli S. Watkies City Clerk

Secretarist
Cathrine Marchell
Striking Committee
City Hall, 12th Floor, West Tower
100 Dusen Street West
Teronto, Ontario M5H 2N2

Tel: 416-392-6276 Fax: 416-392-2980 e-mail: cmarche2@toronto.ca Web: www.toronto.ca

December 9, 2008

Mr. Alok Mukherjee, Chair Toronto Police Services Board 40 College Street, 7th Floor Toronto, ON M5G 2J3

Dear Ms. Mukherjee:

City of Toronto Council, at its meeting on December 1, 2 and 3, 2008, considered Striking Committee Item ST10.1, Council Member Appointments to Executive, Standing and Special Committees, City Agencies and Advisory Bodies. Council adopted the Striking Committee recommendations and appointed the following Members of Council to the Toronto Police Services Board, for a term of office starting January 1, 2009 to November 30, 2010, and until successors are appointed:

Councillor Frank Di Giorgio
Toronto City Hall, 100 Queen St. W., Suite A8
Toronto ON M5H 2N2
Telephone: (416) 392-4066
e-mail: councillor_digiorgio@toronto.ca

Councillor Pam McConnell
Toronto City Hall, 100 Queen St. W., Suite A7
Toronto ON M5H 2N2
Telephone: (461) 392-7916
e-mail: councillor_mcconnell@toronto.ca

Councillor Adam Vaughan
Toronto City Hall, 100 Queen St. W., Suite C50
Toronto, ON M5H 2N2
Telephone: (416) 392-4044
c-mail: councillor_vaughan@toronto.ca

Yours usuly,

Ulli S. Watkiss City Clerk

CM/sa

ABC History Files

DATE RECEIVED

DEC 0 9 2008

TORONTO POLICE SERVICES BOARD

THIS IS AN EXTRACT FROM THE MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL PUBLIC MEETING OF THE TORONTO POLICE SERVICES BOARD HELD ON JANUARY 15, 2009

#P2. ELECTIONS OF THE CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

Election of the Chair, Toronto Police Services Board

In accordance with section 28 of the *Police Services Act*, which provides that the Board is required to elect a Chair at its first meeting in each year, the Board Administrator requested nominations for the position of Chair of the Toronto Police Services Board.

The Honourable Hugh Locke, Q.C., nominated Dr. Alok Mukherjee which was seconded by Mr. Hamlin Grange. Dr. Mukherjee indicated that he accepted the nomination. There were no further nominations and nominations were closed.

The Board voted and, based upon one nomination for the office of Chair, Toronto Police Services Board, Dr. Alok Mukherjee was declared elected Chair of the Board for the year 2009 and until his successor is appointed.

Election of the Vice-Chair, Toronto Police Services Board

In accordance with section 5(4) of the Toronto Police Services Board Procedural By-Law No. 107 which provides that the Board shall elect a Vice-Chair at its first meeting in each year, Dr. Mukherjee requested nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board.

Dr. Mukherjee nominated Councillor Pam McConnell which was seconded by Ms. Judi Cohen. Councillor McConnell indicated that she accepted the nomination. There were no further nominations and nominations were closed.

The Board voted and, based upon one nomination for the office of Vice-Chair, Toronto Police Services Board, Councillor Pam McConnell was declared elected Vice-Chair of the Board for the year 2009 and until her successor is appointed.

THIS IS AN EXTRACT FROM THE MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL PUBLIC MEETING OF THE TORONTO POLICE SERVICES BOARD HELD ON JANUARY 15, 2009

# P3.	ADJOURNMENT		
	Alok Mukherjee Chair		